Accolades Archive

Let’s celebrate the work, accomplishments and current future of undergraduate student, Carolyn Pham. She is a future cutting edge researcher and faculty member. She will be graduating in May and her story is worth noting. Carolyn Pham works with the Center of Educational Research and she stands out. In fact, the Center would have not made the progress it has, but for her wonderful contributions. It is unsurprising, during her tenure at UNI, she has won awards, fellowships, funding and soon will be published in a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal.
A University of Northern Iowa professor’s book earned a spot on a library magazine’s list of top academic titles for 2019. Christopher R. Martin’s “No Longer Newsworthy: How the Mainstream Media Abandoned the Working Class” made the prestigious list of the best in scholarly titles reviewed by Choice.
Russel Karim was awarded the national Outstanding Immigrant Business Award at the Immigrant Entrepreneurs Summit for an array of businesses he started while at the University of Northern Iowa. Karim graduated from UNI in 2015 with a degree in computer science and entrepreneurship. He is now employed in UNI’s IT-Administrative Information Systems as an application administrator.
UNI's Marilyn Shaw was inducted into the Iowa High School Speech Association Hall of Fame at the 2019 IHSSA Coaches Convention. The hall of fame is the highest honor the speech association may confer on an individual. It is presented to a distinguished individual of state wide reputation and outstanding accomplishments. The contribution and service given by the inductee stem from dedication and commitment to the Iowa High School Speech programs beyond normally expected and superlative identification.
Melissa Beall, professor Emeritus in the communication studies department, was awarded the Samuel L. Becker Distinguished Service Award by the National Communication Association.
The University of Northern Iowa maintained its rank as the second-best regional public university in the "Best Regional Universities (Midwest)" category for the 18th consecutive year in the recently released 2020 U.S. News & World Report’s “Best Colleges 2020” report. Overall, UNI improved to No. 20 in the Midwest regional rankings, and it was the highest ranked master’s institution in the Midwest.
The University of Northern Iowa was named one of the best colleges in the Midwest in 2020 by the Princeton Review, marking UNI’s 17th consecutive year on the prestigious list.
The University of Northern Iowa’s Center for Urban Education (UNI-CUE) was honored with a Heritage Legacy Award for outstanding organization Friday to recognize its commitment and impact to the African-American community.
A University of Northern Iowa junior received the Goldwater Scholarship in Science and Mathematics this week, a nationally competitive award that was granted to less than 500 students across the country. Joseph Tibbs is a double major in physics and biochemistry whose research at UNI tracks and displays complex data of molecule-to-molecule interactions that is helping to better understand the underlying mechanism of DNA repair.
Mary E. Losch, director of the Center for Social and Behavioral Research (CSBR) and professor of psychology at the University of Northern Iowa, has been named the 2019 recipient of the John M. Kennedy Achievement Award given by the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations (AASRO) for her service and leadership in academic survey research.