UNI Nonprofit Leadership Alliance honors local nonprofits at awards luncheon

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa – The University of Northern Iowa’s Nonprofit Leadership Alliance Student Association will be celebrating 30 years on the UNI campus. While celebrating the outstanding organization, the event will be honoring local nonprofits at the 14th Annual Cedar Valley Nonprofit Awards Luncheon from noon to 1:30 p.m., Thursday, April 5, in the Commons Ballroom on the UNI campus.

The event will feature keynote speaker Susan Tomlinson Schmidt, president of the national Nonprofit Leadership Alliance. The luncheon will recognize the exceptional contributions and partnerships of local nonprofits, nonprofit leaders, and UNI faculty and staff. Awards will be presented to winning individuals and organizations during the luncheon.

This year’s award winners are as follows: Nonprofit Business Partner of the Year— IDEX/ Viking Pump; Koob Award for Collaboration—Cedar Valley Mental Health Planning Coalition, Cedar Valley United Way; Nonprofit Board Member of the YearPaula Goetz, Friends of Hartman Reserve;  Gordon Mack Legacy Award—Mark Witmer, North Star Community Services; New Nonprofit Employee of the Year—Carmen Finken, University of Northern Iowa, Sustainable Schools AmeriCorps; Nonprofit Staff Leader of the YearKatie Orlando, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeast Iowa; Exceptional Nonprofit of the Year—House of Hope; Keri Kulish Award for Outstanding Student Leadership—Karlene Izer, Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa. Karlene will also receive a $1,000 cash award for her amazing engagement and work she has put forth, in honor of Keri Kulish. 

The Nonprofit Leadership Alliance is a program of the University of Northern Iowa’s division of Leisure, Youth and Human Services. The Nonprofit Leadership Alliance is a national certification and credentialing program that works to strengthen the social sector with a talented, skillful and exemplary workforce.

For questions, contact Julianne Gassman, campus director of the UNI Nonprofit Leadership Alliance, at julianne.gassman@uni.edu or 319-273-2204, Kristina Kofoot, adviser for the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance, at kristina.kofoot@uni.edu or 319-273-4507.


Julianne Gassman, campus director, UNI Nonprofit Leadership Alliance, 319-273-2204, julianne.gassman@uni.edu

Kristina Kofoot, adviser, UNI Nonprofit Leadership Alliance, 319-273-4507, kristina.kofoot@uni.edu

Lindsay Cunningham, Office of University Relations, 319-273-2761, lindsay.cunningham@uni.edu