UNI ROTC to host fourth annual Hall of Fame

The University of Northern Iowa Reserved Officers' Training Corps (ROTC) will host its fourth annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at 9 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 5, in the Lang Hall Auditorium on the UNI campus. 

This year's Hall of Fame will honor two inductees: Lt. Col. (retired) Bobbie Lydell Williams, ’86, and Lt. Col. (retired) Dr. Jeffrey Adamovicz, ’84.

Adamovicz is a 1984 graduate of the UNI biology program. He is currently the director for the Laboratory for Infectious Disease Research (LIDR), one of 12 regional biocontainment laboratories established by the National Institutes of Health. The laboratory conducts research designed to prevent and treat infections causes by biothreats and emerging infectious diseases agents.

Adamovicz formerly served as chief of the bacteriology division at the United States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases (USAMRID). At USAMRID, Adamovicz directed vaccine and therapeutics development programs against bacterial diseases such as anthrax, plague and glanders.

Williams commissioned December 1986 through the UNI ROTC program. Since being elected April 2012, Williams has served on the UNI Foundation and Board of Trustees, helping to advance the university's goals and the president’s vision, with a focus on UNI athletics, senior Army ROTC, diversity and inclusion.

During his time in the military, Williams served in several key leadership positions, including commander for the Bravo Battery 4th Battalion, 29th Field Artillery, deployed in support of operations Intrinsic Action Kuwait and IFOR in Bosnia; deputy fire support coordinator (DFSCOORD) in the 3rd Infantry Division Artillery (Mechanized), with a seven-month operational deployment to Kuwait and the subsequent operations Enduring and Iraqi Freedom; and Joint Staff at the Pentagon, as senior operations and surveillance officer in the Emergency Action Center for Operations Team Three in the National Military Command Center (NMCC). 

For more information about the Hall of Fame and this year’s inductees, please contact Debra Ackerson, secretary for military science-ROTC, at 319-273-7648 or debra.ackerson@uni.edu.