University of Northern Iowa to host commencements in the UNI-Dome May 7

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa -- The University of Northern Iowa will host its annual spring commencement services in two ceremonies on Saturday, May 7 in the UNI-Dome. The first will begin at 10 a.m., for candidates for degrees from the College of Education, College of Business Administration and the Division of Continuing Education and Special Programs. The second ceremony will begin at 2 p.m., for the College of Humanities and Fine Arts, College of Natural Sciences and College of Social and Behavioral Sciences. Graduate students attend the ceremony for their respective colleges.

UNI President Robert Koob will preside over ceremonies and confer degrees on the students. Aaron Podolefsky, provost and vice president for academic affairs, will award honors.

Candidates for degrees will be presented by the deans of their respective colleges: Susan J. Koch, interim dean, Graduate College; Farzad Moussavi, College of Business Administration; Jeffrey Cornett, College of Education; James F. Lubker, College of Humanities and Fine Arts; Joel Haack, interim dean, College of Natural Sciences; Julia Wallace, College of Social & Behavioral Sciences; and, James Bodensteiner, interim dean, Division of Continuing Education & Special Programs.

Student addresses will be given at the 10 a.m. ceremony by senior elementary education major Andrew Krumm, who will graduate cum laude, of Huxley; and at the 2 p.m. ceremony by senior history education major Jenny Rokes from Dike, who will graduate in December. Rokes is a member of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa.

A senior class gift presentation will be made at each of the ceremonies by senior organizational communication major Jane Harrison of West Des Moines, chair of the senior class gift committee. This year's class gift will be dedicated to the completion of the stage in the UNI memorial garden. The stage will be named for the Class of 2005.

The university's Heritage Honours Awards, recognizing alumni who have achieved significant personal and professional accomplishments, will be presented during the 10 a.m. ceremony as well. This year's winners are Diane Crane Bridgewater, a 1985 alumnus with a bachelor's degree in accounting and French, who will receive the Alumni Achievement Award; and Jason Follett, who earned a bachelor's degree in history and political science in 1992. Follett will receive the Young Alumni Award.

Honorary Doctorate Degrees will be awarded to Christine Grant, retired Women's Athletic Director at the University of Iowa; and Rex Eno, retired chairman of Life Investors of America. Grant is currently the associate professor of sports administration at the University of Iowa.

Those in attendance from the Class of 1955 will be recognized individually by President Koob as members of the 50th anniversary class at the 10 a.m. ceremony.



Phil Patton, UNI Registrar, (319) 273-2244
Vicki Grimes, University Marketing & Public Relations, (319) 273-6728