UNI named a top university for transfer students

The University of Northern Iowa has been named to Phi Theta Kappa’s Transfer Honor Roll for the second time in three years. 

Only the top quarter of the regionally accredited institutions that applied made the international honor society’s list, which recognizes excellence in helping community college students successfully transition to institutions offering four-year degrees. UNI is one of 112 colleges nationwide - and the only public university in Iowa - to make the cut this year.

Danielle Weide, UNI’s assistant director of transfer admissions, said building close relationships with the state’s community colleges and offering transfer students individualized support has made all the difference. 

That includes the new UNI@DMACC Center on the Des Moines Area Community College’s Urban campus, which offers students a streamlined pathway to a four-year degree while staying in Des Moines.  

“My transfer couldn’t have been any smoother,” said finance major Luma Yasin. “At UNI, it doesn’t matter if you’re a transfer student...the pride, sense of community and friendships we made are incredible. (UNI) is home for every student from any background.”

To determine which institutions make the Transfer Honor Roll, Phi Theta Kappa evaluates participating institutions on criteria that include transfer data, admissions practices, cost of attendance and student life.

“UNI faculty and staff are committed to transfer students, offering seamless pathways to high-quality academic programs, early access to academic advising during the transfer process, and an affordable, world-class education,” said Kristin Woods, interim associate vice president for enrollment management. 

As a member of the Transfer Honor Roll, UNI will be recognized at PTK Catalyst, the honor society’s annual convention scheduled in Baltimore next year. 

Phi Theta Kappa has approximately 250,000 active members at almost 1,300 community college campuses in 11 nations. Some 3.5 million students have been inducted into PTK since its founding in 1918.