University of Northern Iowa students receive 2023 Student Leadership Awards

University of Northern Iowa students receive 2023 Student Leadership Awards

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa - Each spring the University of Northern Iowa recognizes outstanding student leadership through a series of awards presented to students and student organizations. Among the awards presented at the annual ceremony, which was held last night, the Office of the Dean of Students recognizes students who earn the Dr. Sue Fallon Scholarship, Outstanding Student Leaders Award and Servant Leadership Award. 

Savanna Jemilo with award for Dr. Sue Follon Scholarship for LeadershipSavanna Jemilo, a science teaching major and women’s softball player, is the 2023 recipient of the Dr. Sue Follon Scholarship for Leadership, a $4,500 scholarship. This award’s namesake served as vice president for Educational and Student Services at UNI, now known as the Division of Student Life, from 1985 until her death from lung cancer in 1998. She was the first woman to be named vice president at the university.

The Outstanding Student Leaders Award, given to graduating seniors who have demonstrated dedication and leadership through their involvement in one or more campus activities, was awarded to:

  • Jeremy Charles
  • Parker Daniels
  • Luigi Lopez 
  • Trevor Meyers
  • Abby Riley 
  • Yessenia Rodriguez 

Winners of the Outstanding Student Leaders Award

Recipients of the Servant Leadership Award, which recognizes students who have worked for the common good while putting the needs of others first, include:

  • Samantha Adams
  • Maria Gamon
  • Marisa Jepsen
  • Lexi Gause
  • Mackenzie Kielty
  • Juandaniel Lopez
  • Samantha Robinson 
  • Anna Stevens 

Winners of the Servant Leadership Award

These award recipients are among several Student Leadership Awards distributed to students at last night’s ceremony. More information about all the Student Leadership Awards can be found at