Six UNI alumni among this year’s Gold Star Teachers

Six UNI alumni among this year’s Gold Star Teachers

2023 Gold Star Teachers

On May 10, KWWL and the McElroy Trust honored this year’s Gold Star Teachers at a ceremony at the Gallagher Bluedorn Performing Arts Center. Of the 10 winning teachers, six are UNI alumni: 

  • Adam Bolts, English, Dunkerton High School (BA in English, 2018)
  • Meghan Bruns, 2nd Grade, Cedar Heights Elementary (BA in Elementary Education, 2017)
  • Christina Cortez, Spanish, Hudson High School (BA in Spanish, 2010)
  • Shantel Kahrs, 7th Grade Social Studies, Peet Junior High (BA in Social Science Teaching, 2017)
  • JoEllen Pruis, 6th Grade Math, Hoover Middle School (MA in Educational Psychology Professional Development for Teachers, 2005)
  • Anne Schreck, Literacy Strategist, Irving Elementary (BA in Elementary Education-Special, 1987, MA in Special Education, 1995)

Rounding out the list include Ra’Shuna Greer who teaches kindergarten at Orange Elementary, Brenna Griffin, an English teacher at Cedar Falls High School, Dale Orthmann, a math teacher at Waterloo Columbus High School, and Kendell Rochford, who teaches sixth grade math at Central Middle School.

The 10 were selected from nearly 450 nominations from students, parents, community members and colleagues. 

Winning teachers receive $1,000 honorarium and $1,000 to improve their classrooms.